Mighty Mouse settings

Hi all, I am a college student and I am taking a compositing class. The school has really nice Mac Pro’s, but for whatever reason they have the preferences for the mice (Apple Mighty Mouse) set to one button instead of two. I wrote a script for my class that changes this in the system preferences, sets the desktop background to a neutral gray, and also copies a folder from the network to the local HD. These are all things that I and the rest of the students in my class have to do on a day to day basis so the script would be really helpful. The problem is IT has disabled “Enable access for assistive devices” so my script which should work perfectly doesn’t anymore. Is there a way to change the mighty mouse settings without using System Events to change the System Preferences?

Thanks!!

(*VSFX270 Startup Script v1
  By Robert Gilkes
  This script changes Mighty Mouse right mouse button 
  from default one button to two button mouse, sets the
  desktop background to a neutral gray color (sampled from
  Shake interface, and copies nreal folder from user's
  network Home space to local.*)

--Set right mouse button to "Secondary Button" from default "Primary Button"
tell application "System Preferences" to activate
tell application "System Events"
	tell process "System Preferences"
		click button 12 of scroll area 1 of window "System Preferences"
		click radio button 2 of tab group 1 of window "Keyboard & Mouse"
		click pop up button 3 of tab group 1 of window "Keyboard & Mouse"
		click menu item 2 of menu 1 of pop up button 3 of tab group 1 of window "Keyboard & Mouse"
	end tell
end tell
tell application "System Preferences" to quit

--Download "Shake" gray JPG and apply as desktop background
set bgColor to "Macintosh HD:Work Folder:gray.jpg"
tell application "URL Access Scripting"
	download "http://studentpages.scad.edu/~rgilke20/gray.jpg" to bgColor replacing yes
end tell
tell application "Finder"
	set desktop picture to bgColor
	delete bgColor