Move File Return to Original Folder?

Ok Total Newbie first post. At its most basic

If I have four folders A,B,C,D each with one file inside A1,B1,C1,D1 I want to move each file to folder E where I will edit the files held within and then return each file back to its original folder?

In Reality I have 50 folders in which contain 1000 files of which I have selected 100 files these 100 files I want to move to a single folder where I they will be edited and then I want the 100 files to return to their original folders.

The files that are held within the folders are Digital Negatives I have found that by using a program called Photo Mechanic I can add a unique name to each file inside its metadata, spotlight can find this unique name and create a selection for me, ok I have my files moving them is no problem with Automator but as of yet returning each file to its original correct folder, location eludes me.

My first problem has been trying to explain this to others and even harder trying to put this into a search?

I use a Imac G5 os x 10.4.11 I :smiley:

Model: iMac
Browser: Safari 525.27.1
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

When the files are moved, are the filenames changed? Can the names be used to find the original source?

If not, Automator is not going to work for you, but it would not be difficult to set up an AppleScript to save a file during the first transfer that could be used to note where each file came from in the first place.

Another approach would to be re-configure the initial file moving to preserve the original location in the actual filename, thus preserving that for the return trip.

Thanks Craig very exciting was beginning to wonder if it were not going to be possible.

The file names will not be changed just the contents of the file will be edited.