move file to airport server

Hello,

I’m a total newbie to this, but I’m trying to create a script that will move a file to another computer over my airport network. Since the network is managed by dhcp, is it possible to write the script without using a specific ip address?

I have a script that I’m trying to get to work, even using a specific ip, but I’m not having any luck at getting it to move the file. I get an error that says the finder can’t get the folder on the server.

tell application "Finder"
try
		mount volume "darronjeans" on server "10.0.1.2"
	end try
	move "/Users/darronjeans/Desktop/O&A/test.txt" to folder "afp://10.0.1.2/darronjeans/Desktop/O&A:"
end tell

Hopefully it’s not confusing that the paths are very semilar. One computer is my old laptop, the other is my new laptop, which is why the paths look similar on both.

This just a part of a larger script that I’m writing, but I can’t get past this hurdle.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

darron

Browser: Safari 525.20.1
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.5)

Move is a verb for repositioning objects on the screen. Use duplicate (in a Finder tell block with a colon-delimited path) or use do shell script “mv PosixPathToSource PosixPathToDestination”. See the man page for mv (In Terminal man mv) because across networks it’s a much better way to go than to have the Finder do it. Use cp if you want to copy source to destination rather than move it.

Thanks for the reply.

Not sure I understand how to use the shell script properly.

Tested it out, and was able to move a file from one computer to the other when the file name was known, but in the final script, i wont know the specific file name ahead of time.

I guess it might help to tell you what I’m trying to do.