Move Files Droplet

First let me apologize for posting such a simple question, but I’ve searched and searched and can’t make it work.

I have a droplet, and I want it to take files, move them, and add them to itunes. I can’t get past the move stage. I’ve tried a thousand variations and I’m really pulling my hair out on this one. Someone please help while I still have some hair left!!!

on open FileList
	repeat with YourFile in FileList
              set YourFile to YourFile as Unicode Text
		tell application "Finder" to move YourFile to (folder "Volumes:Jamie's HD:Music:Added thru Scripts")
	end repeat
end open

I’m new to scripting and haven’t tried scripting iTunes yet, so I can’t help you with code. I can tell you that adding files to your music folder certainly won’t get them added to the iTunes Library. You have to tell itunes to import the song files… that’s the only way I know of to have the iTunes library updated with the new songs.

So my basic idea for a script would be:

1. tell application “iTunes” to import FileList – if your itunes prefs are set then itunes will make copies of the files and put them in the proper place within your music folder
  2. tell application “Finder” to move FileList to trash

It isn’t the iTunes part I’m worried about, that I can manage. But I can’t actually move the files!!!

Jamie:

I am sorry I don’t have time right now to completely test this snippet, but it worked last summer for me:

repeat with tt from 1 to (count tlist)
	tell application "iTunes"
		set this_one to item tt of tlist as alias --NEEDS the [as alias] to function
		add this_one to first library playlist --adds the track
	end tell
end repeat

Where tlist is a list of file paths. I believe you can also use a playlist name like this:

add this_one to playlist "Driving"

Let us know how you fare.

Nope, like I said, the iTunes part is easy. It keeps throwing me the error “can’t get item 1 of alias …” when I try to move a file.