Move to "old" folder

This is my first attempt at building an Automator workflow. I’ve spent some time looking through the forums for specific solutions, but being a noob I’m not finding the answer I’m looking for. I thought I’d give it a go here and see if anyone had any suggestions.

I’m looking for a way to automate a very mundane task that’s performed quite often throughout my day. I’m constantly making revisions to photoshop files and saving new versions out, leaving the old ones to be placed (manually) into an “old” folder within my “images” folder. A lot of times there are hundreds of images within my working folder, so it’s often a hassle to go digging for the “old” folder. I’d like a way to be able to select the old image(s) and automatically move it to the “old” folder within the current working directory.

Thanks in advance for helping a “noob”.

-Will

Hi,

easiest solution:
copy this code into Script Editor, save the script as application bundle somewhere.

tell application "Finder"
	set dest to (insertion location as text) & "old:"
	repeat with oneFile in (get selection)
		try
			move oneFile to folder dest
		on error e
			display dialog e
		end try
	end repeat
end telll

Open a Finder window and drag the icon of the application next to the search field.
Then open your folder, select files and click on the application icon

Stefan,

Thanks so much for your response. That worked great! What would you recommend as a good starting point for learning scripting of this sort? I’d like to understand more.