Moving and resizing windows using quicksilver

I recently received an external monitor to go with my laptop. With this new screenspace comes problems. I want to write a script that I can use with quicksilver that takes the frontmost window and sends it to the other monitor and resizes it based on some preference. I was thinking maybe some List that I can update within the script that holds the preferred ratio of window to screen based on the application. Since I am brand new to applescript, I am having some troubles with the syntax and getting started. I read some other posts and now I altered some code. As of now I’m just experimenting with sending one window to the right. This works in the scriptEditor application, but when I click the script outside the application I get an error, NSReceivererror 4. This error seems to be notorious. I do have universal access enabled as well as the gui stuff, but I still have the problem. Here is the code. Any help would be appreciated, and it’s great to be here. Seems like the place to be!:smiley:

tell application "System Events"
	-- setup current resolution details 
	-- These will have to be changed if/when the resolution changes 
	set resolutionX to 1280
	set resolutionY to 854
	-- 1st, determine current X & Y Positions 
	set theWindow to window 1 of (first process whose frontmost is true)
	set thePosition to position of theWindow
	--display alert name of theWindow & ": " & ((first item of thePosition) as string) & ", " & ((second item of thePosition) as string)
	set currXPos to (first item of thePosition)
	set currYPos to (second item of thePosition)

-- Now we move the window to the right 

set position of theWindow to {(currXPos + 1280), (currYPos - 500)}

end tell

The correct syntax for most apps is

tell application "YourApp" to set bounds of window 1 to (a,b,c,d) -- with a = topleft x coord, b = topleft y coord, c = bottomright x coord, d = bottomright  y coord