Moving files out of subfolders based on extension

I am very new to AppleScript, and so I have tried searching the forums, but I’m not sure what keywords to use. Maybe someone here can help me. :slight_smile:

I have project files that I must download that come in folders. Those folders go into a folder named with the customer’s e-mail address. Some of the files from the subfolders need to be moved up a level into the one with the customer’s name, and everything else needs trashing. Normally, I would just do this by hand, but when I have to do 50+ in a day… I think it could be scripted.

Below are some images that I hope will help explain this. (Sorry, I couldn’t get the [img] tags to work; maybe they’re disabled.)

How it starts: http://i530.photobucket.com/albums/dd342/farethoughts/AppleScript%20Testing/Before.png

How it should end: http://i530.photobucket.com/albums/dd342/farethoughts/AppleScript%20Testing/After.png

The numbers in the file names change, but the letters are always the same.

So, I found this script online, and it starts part of the process, but it moves everything, not just the files I need:

set main_folder to (choose folder with prompt "Choose the main folder")
tell application "Finder"
	set sub_folders to folders of main_folder
	repeat with each_folder in sub_folders
		move every file of each_folder to main_folder with replacing
	end repeat
end tell

So, is this too specific for AppleScript to do? I just haven’t been able to find a command that would allow me to select just the files I need. Even if I could just grab the eps and jpegs, that would be a great start.

Thanks for any ideas.

Model: MacBook Pro Duo Core
AppleScript: 2.1.2
Browser: Firefox 3.6.12 GTB7.1
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.6)

Hi,

select the main_folder in a finder window and then run the script …
if you call the script by a shortcut, for example you can use the programm spark to handle this, it’ll be pretty nice …