Need A Script to Check For Missing Files/Broken Serial # Ranges

Hello,

I am new to scripting and don’t even know where to start on this, so I am wondering if there is a way to do what I want.

I want to be able to run a script on a folder or group of folders to find out if there are any missing items in the folder, that is, if the series of items is missing any numbers. There might be more than one way to do this, and I’m open to any way that works.

The script should display a dialog when the folder doesn’t have the right number of files in it.

If it is possible to write a script that can spot whenever a series of files misses a number, that would be ideal. If not, maybe checking for the right number of items (described below) is possible.

In order to know what the number of files should be (and this is what I want to automate) I have to look at the serial numbers of the files within the folder. The number of files in the folder should equal [the highest serial # - the lowest serial #] plus 1.

Here is a real-life example. The folder to be looked at it contains a folder inside it and inside that is a set of serially numbered .dpx files numbered from 1000 to 1150.

tb0020_comp_v028 / ← folder to be acted upon by the script
2370x1800 /
tb0020_comp_v028.1000.dpx - tb0020_comp_v028.1150.dpx ← files to be looked at by the script

The script should look at the highest/last serial number (1150), subtract the lowest serial number (1000), add 1, and compare that to the number of .dpx files in the folder. There should be 151 files in the folder.

However we are able to arrive at the information, ideally, if the folder were missing one of the files in the series, the alert would say something like:

[center]“Broken Frames Detected! Missing tb0020_comp_v028.1032.dpx and tb0020_comp_v028.1047.dpx”
[/center]
Can anyone point me in the right direction as far as creating something like this?

Thank you very much,
Liat

You may try something like :