Need help: QXPress script to replace red color with black

Hi there!

This is my first post here and I am a complete beginner with Applescript. So every help is welcome…
And sorry for stupid questions I’ll probably raise.

The issue:
I have a (huge) list of QuarkXPress documents that need to be changed. The files contain only red lines and I need to have them in black.
So I’d like to put the files into a folder and let QXP work through it (btw: I can upload the QuarkXPress Passport 7.1 dictionary of course). It should open the file, delete color “red” and replace it with color “black”. Then choose the object tool, select all, modify and de-select “disable output”. Once that is done QXP shoudl save the file (either based on the original file name (into new folder) or just replace the existing (can make copy in advance).

Honestly I have no clue about the effort needed to get a script running for that. I just started reading through some AS starter books and hope that this practical “example” helps me to get into it quicker.
Thanks a mill to everybody reading through it and thinking about it. :cool:

Best regards, Markus

mpeschen,

It sounds like what you want to do is change the color of each object then surpress them from printing then save as in a different directory. This is alittle more involved than just a line or to of code. You should try write your code step by step.

open one of your docs and try to just get the color changed then then see if you can figure out how to do that to all the objects once you have achieved that move on to the suppressions then to opening and saving.

I’m sure that many including myself will help you when you get stuck.

hope this is helpful

MM

Hi mp

And Welcome to whole world of applescript frustration!! (stick with it! its worth it though)

Don’t want to help you to much but this should get you started if not it will point you in a good direction:

tell application "QuarkXPress Passport"
	tell document 1