Need help with scripting Stuffit Deluxe 9.0

I am the only Mac tech at my company and was conSCRIPTed to write an Applescript to routinely compress all the folders in a user-chosen folder, each folder going into its own archive. So when the script is done each folder will still be there but there will also be a compressed version with the folder name plus “.sit”.

I’m new to Applescript and I’ve gotten this far with the script:

process_folder(choose folder)

on process_folder(in_folder)
tell application “Finder”
set folder_list to in_folder’s folders
repeat with this_folder in folder_list
tell application “StuffIt Deluxe”
activate
set thisDirName to (get name of this_folder)

set thisFileName to thisDirName & ".sit"
			make new archive with properties {location:file thisFileName}
			stuff {alias thisDirName} into archive thisFileName compression level maximum

end tell
	end repeat
	tell application "StuffIt Deluxe"
		quit
	end tell
end tell

end process_folder

The problem is with the line beginning with → stuff {alias thisDirName}
I get an Applescript error saying File Alias “folder 123” not found.
Some of this code I got from recording my actions while creating a Stuffit archive and I suspect I may need to explicitly state the path to the current folder, as I get farther when I paste an explicit path after the word alias, with Hard drive name etc.
If anyone could try to replicate this on their OS 10.3.x Mac with a folder containing several subfolders to be archived I would sure appreciate it.
I’m learning as I go along and they want this more sooner than later.

Many thanks in advance

OK, I slogged through your script, fixed some of your mistakes, made a few of my own and came up with this:

process_folder(choose folder)

tell application "Finder" to set folder_list to in_folder's folders
		tell application "Finder"
			set archiveName to ":" & (name of this_folder) & ".sitx"
			set aliasFolder to this_folder as alias
		end tell