New scripter needs help - search/replace in "tell" loop - syntax error

I’m new to AppleScript but have some scripting experience. I have the following working script for an app named GarageSale which is an ebay listing program. I’m basically trying to do a search and replace on the “description” filed.

Two scripts are given below. The first script works fine as given. I found the search/replace snippit in these forums. It searches and replaces text in a “description field” on a single selected (highlighted) item. But when I try to place the search/replace within a “tell GarageSale” statement (so I can "loop thru all selected), I get an error. (The repeat statement below the search/replace really doesn’t make sense for a one pass thru - it just there for testing…)

So the working script is shown first.
The modified non-working script is second.
The error given is: Expected “end” but found “to”.
The error is on “to” on this line: to searchReplace(thisText, searchTerm, replacement)

Any help would be appreciated. As I said, I got the search/replace working but I don’t really understand what is happening.

set theReply1 to (display dialog "Enter new replacement text" default answer "text" buttons {"Cancel", "Continue"} default button "Continue")
set origtext to text returned of theReply1

set theReply2 to (display dialog "Enter new replacement text" default answer "text" buttons {"Cancel", "Continue"} default button "Continue")
set replacetext to text returned of theReply2

tell application "GarageSale"
	set origline to get the description of the first selected template
end tell

searchReplace(origline, origtext, replacetext)
to searchReplace(thisText, searchTerm, replacement)
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to searchTerm
	set thisText to thisText's text items
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to replacement
	set thisText to "" & thisText
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to {""}

repeat with aTemplate in first selected template