New to appleScript and can't find what I need!!

Hi

I’m brand new to appleScript and I have been searching high and low for some scripts I can use for a CD Rom project. The project is a flash projector which will be PC and MAC compatible. What I need to complete the project is some appleScripts that will launch various applications from the Flash Projector file the same as a .bat file does from a pc.
I need to launch email software, the default browser to open web links and pdf files in their own application (ie adobe reader). Is there anyone out there that can let me know what scripts to use or at least point me to a location with such scripts. In theory they look like very simple scripts but I have yet to find one that works.

Any help appreciated.

Cheers

Post the exact sequence of events you want to happen, in order, including files launched/opened and their locations when the CD is inserted. More details is key here.

Ok you asked for it!!!

Apps that need to be opened.

PDF files with adobe reader
web urls with default browser
email links with email software populating the subject field and email address field.

There are a number of these located at different areas within the flash movie.

So far I have managed to make the CD a hybrid so it works both on PC and the Mac with seperate autorun files opening one main swf file. So no problems there.

I’ve been given some code that would appear to work but does not.

–set the name of the file to open
property fileName : “homepage.html”
–get the path to the containing folder
set myPath to (path to me as string)
set AppleScript’s text item delimiters to “:”
set the parentFolder to ¬
((text items 1 thru -2 of myPath) & “”) as string
set AppleScript’s text item delimiters to “”
– find the flash file
try
set targetFile to alias (the parentFolder & fileName)
on error
–ie if there’s no file here by this name, it will quit.
return quit
end try
– open the file
tell application “Finder”
open file targetFile
end tell