Newb to AS login text field

Hi everyone.

Forgive the newb questions…I’m a total newb to AS, but I’m so excited I discovered it!

I built this tiny little app that would open terminal past some long text to mount an sshfs drive, then put in the password, and then quit. I was so proud of myself. I used just keystroke to login.

Then I thought, this is Apple, there must be a way to do this in the background. So I found this site and comments about using do shell script. So I did two text fields (user,pass) and a button to mount:

tell application "System Events"
			delay 4
			set userLogin to contents of text field "userLogin" as string
			do shell script "/Applications/sshfs/bin/mount_sshfs" & userLogin & "@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx: ~/sshfs/xxx"
			delay 8
			set passLogin to contents of text field "passLogin" as string
			do shell script "" & passLogin & ""
			delay 3
		end tell

so I’m having trouble getting it to take in the pass and user. the fields are inside a box, so I’m thinking that maybe that is the reason.

I’m sure this is trivial, but if you can help this newb AS chick I’d be forever thankful :slight_smile:

btw, that’s not the whole script, that’s just part of the button event to mount.

Welcome, drdaco! :slight_smile: (FYI, I believe we sort of know each other through a particular “localhost”. ;))

Try using statements like this outside of tell blocks for other applications:

on clicked theObject
	-- whatever

set userLogin to contents of text field "userLogin" of box "whatever" of window "whatever"
	set passLogin to contents of text field "passLogin" of box "whatever" of window "whatever"

set userLogin to contents of text field "userLogin" of box "whatever" of window of theObject
	set passLogin to contents of text field "passLogin" of box "whatever" of window of theObject

tell box "whatever" of window of theObject
		set userLogin to contents of text field "userLogin"
		set passLogin to contents of text field "passLogin"
	end tell

-- do shell script