Newbie Here...Would Appreciate Some Help With a Finder Script...

I have done some – but much more to do – reading on AppleScript to do the following:

1. Identify those files in my Documents folder whose name [based on their full path] is > x characters

2. Import the list of the file identified [including their full path] and character count in 1. above to an Excel spreadsheet

3. Sort the resulting excel spreadsheet by character count from highest to lowest

I have searched the forum to see whether I could find some code to get me started but came up empty.

Would appreciate either being pointed in the right direction or some code to get me started.

Thanks.

Try this

set minCount to 50 -- minimum number of characters you want included in your list
set uName to do shell script "whoami" -- get the user name
set docPath to "Users/" & uName & "/Documents/" as string -- path to documents folder
set fileList to list folder docPath without invisibles
set pathList to {}
set charCounts to {}
repeat with i in fileList
	set j to docPath & i as string
	set charCount to (count of j)
	if charCount > minCount then
		set end of pathList to j
		set end of charCounts to charCount
	end if
end repeat
set listCount to (count of items of pathList)
tell application "Microsoft Excel"
	activate
	make new workbook
	set theBook to the active workbook
	set theSheet to active sheet of theBook
	set bookName to name of theBook
	set sheetName to name of theSheet
	tell workbook theBook
		tell worksheet theSheet
			repeat with i from 1 to listCount
				set value of cell ("A" & i as string) to (item i of pathList) as string
				set value of cell ("B" & i as string) to (item i of charCounts) as string
			end repeat
			sort special range ("A1:B" & listCount as string) of worksheet theSheet key1 (range "B1" of ¬
				worksheet theSheet) order1 sort descending
		end tell
	end tell
end tell

bebout: