Newbie needs help with basic shutdown script

Hi there,

I’m a noob. Be gentle. :slight_smile:

Basically I’ve been fiddling around with Applescript, trying to get it to automate some of the minor and annoying tasks in my studio. Specifically, I use a program called Vienna Ensemble Pro, and I’m trying to write a script that will a) Quit the program, b) select the option ‘Don’t Save’ in the subsequent window, c) wait two minutes, and then d) shut down the computer.

So far, I can’t get past step B! I’ve been Googling and searching the forum, trying to figure out what I’m doing wrong, but I just can’t seem to figure it out. So believe me when I say that I tried searching and such, but as a last resort I’m presenting my issue here.

Here’s all I have so far:

tell application “Vienna Ensemble Pro”
quit
end tell
[something to select ‘Don’t Save’]
delay 120
tell application Finder to shut down
end tell

So as you can see, the part that I’m having trouble with is step b. There are three buttons: “Don’t Save”, “Cancel” and “Save” (the last of which is the blue-highlighted one). I can’t, for the life of me, figure out how to select “Don’t Save”. I tried various permutations of ‘click button 1 of window 1’, but I get various error messages.

Any idea what I’m doing wrong here?

Browser: Safari 531.9
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.5)

How about:

tell application "Vienna Ensemble Pro"
	close every document saving no
	quit
end tell
tell application "Finder" to shut down

Finder’s ‘shut down’ is in it’s ‘legacy suite’, so it may disappear without warning.

Use System Event’s version instead.

Hello.

That would be

tell application "System Events" to shut down

Thanks guys. Unfortunately this isn’t working either. It gives me an AppleScript Error saying ‘Vienna Ensemble Pro got an error: every document doesn’t understand the close message.’ Any other ideas?

Hello

First of all: I have no experience with that app.
But try:

set open_docs to (get its every document I