newbie question: textEdit

I’ve never used appleScript before, but I know php, perl, python etc…

I would like to write some macros for textEdit. the first: I select several lines of text, press a button & the text is commented out thusly:

this

text

is now commented out

& another macro to uncomment it. How do I do that? How do I call an appleScript from textEdit, & what would the code look like? any advice/leads would be super appreciated – maybe a good tutorial on setting up macro-like scripts for use w/textEdit.

for some reason I’m finding it very hard to find info on applescript “basics.”

thanks folks,
Raphe

Model: macbook
Browser: Firefox 2.0.0.12
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

There are many tutorials on this website. Go to the front page http://macscripter.net/ and then look at the sections in the upper right part of the front page. The unscripted section has many tutorials as well as some of the other section. There’s some tutorials called something like “applescript for beginners” that you can find in the unscripted section.

This applescript will do what you want. If the sentences start with # then it will remove it, and if they don’t start with # then it will add it. Note that in order to access this script from TextEdit (or any other application) you need to put the script in ~/Library/Scripts/. Then you need to activate the “script menu”. Launch the application /Applications/Applescript/Applescript Utility and check the box to “Show Script menu in menu bar”. After checking this box you will see the script menu at the top of your screen in the menu bar. Any scripts you put in ~/Library/Scripts/ will show up under that menu. To run the script just select it from the script menu.

-- this script will toggle "#" from the beginning of any selected paragraphs in TextEdit
-- to use the script just select the text and run the script
-- if you have problems then try increasing the value of "myDelay"

set myDelay to 0.2

-- get the selected text