non-scripting animator in quicktime hell....

dear scripters

I was wondering if anyone could help me with a quicktime script. I’m a stop motion animator and I use a dslr to record my frames. Every few frames (about every second or so… or 24 frames) I like to open up a quicktime image sequence and put it into final cut pro to check my timing against the dialogue and generally see a slightly higher res than the one my video split throws out. Now my jpegs are straight from the camera and pretty large (never mind the RAWs I’m using for the final thing… huge, and once you start getting a thousand or so of them together I can’t even bear thinking about it) so i have to export and compress the image sequence to replay it at all. Now I’ve found that asking quicktime to export it to a certain size takes forever but if i just grab the window and shrink it on the desktop and then ask quicktime to export it at the current size it’s much quicker (if anyone can tell me why that is, I’d be curious to find out)… anyway this whole process is driving me crazy and also leads to a kind of animator’s torpor where i lose track of what i’m doing while i perform this rather mechanical task. i’ve found ikey which helps a bit but it doesn’t account for the time it takes for the frames to actually render in quicktime… as you can imagine for a 10 second shot i’ve checked it about 6-8 times and each time the sequence is getting longer and then ikey misses its cues (but how cool when the cursor moves by itself!). i’m also working from a g4 powerbook so my screen is jam packed with windows… the image capture software, final cut, quicktime… just finding the right window is becoming a nightmare as well.