NOOB: Create mail message with PDF as att. PDF name in Subject

Hi all,

I’m new to Applescript but impressed by its possibilities. I want to get
a script to automate a tedious job that we do several times a day.

Here’s the story…
We create ads for different clients and we always send a PDF to the client
for approval. So every page has to be put in a mail message, with the PDF
name as subject.

What I’d like is a droplet that will create a new message to a defined recipient
and takes the name of the PDF (which is dropped on the droplet) and places
the filename in the subject line and attaches the PDF to the message.
I hope I can learn from this script and make adjustements so I can create droplets
for different recipients myself.

Any help is appreciated!

Thnx

Eric (The Netherlands)

Eric:

Here is a modified version of a droplet I use regularly, with some explanatory comments:

on open drop_file
	set bb to item 1 of drop_file --droplets treat all dropped items as a list.  This just tells the script to deal with the first item, which is the only item when a single file is dropped.
	set item_info to the info for item 1 of drop_file --Get the info about the dropped file
	set nom_fichier to the name of item_info --Get the name of the dropped file
	tell application "Mail"
		set b to make new outgoing message with properties {sender:"zzzzzzzz@zzzzzzzzzzzz.com", subject:nom_fichier} --The sender needs to be the account in Mail that you want mail returned to.  The subject is the name of the file (see the [set nom_fichier] line above)
		tell b to make new to recipient
		set content of b to ((text returned of (display dialog "Message Today:" default answer ""))) & return & return --A simple input dialog to create content for the email message.  It is not necessary, or it could be set to a pre-written piece.
		tell b's content --Remember to reference the [b] variable