noob dilemma w/ interface builder & applescript

i’m VERY new to Applescript and am trying to build a simple application for use at work.
the following interface was built in interface builder. see that switch button that says “Digital Ad”?

Well, Upon entering all of the text fields and hitting the “Auto Create” button, my intent is to create a series of folders on a server with folder names based on the info entered in the text fields.

Here’s my problem:
if a user checks the “Digital Ads” box, upon hitting “Auto Create” i would like an extra folder to be created. However, i have so far been unable to figure a way to recognize whether the box is checked or unchecked, and then to specify what and when to do what i want to do (which is to create an extra folder).

Below is an abridged version of my verbose and inefficient script. Amy ideas or places to point me in the right direction?

p.s. ANY help would be appreciated. this forum so far seems to be a very valuable source of information! Thanks, Josh

global myJob, myDate, myCustomer, myFolder, myY, myz, mysupport, myworkup, myselection, mynewjob, mywidth, myheight, mysize, myDigital

on clicked theObject

if name of theObject is "thereset" then
	tell window "Sherpa v1.0.5"
		delete contents of text field "thejob" of tab view item "tabnew" of tab view "maintab"
		delete contents of text field "thedate" of tab view item "tabnew" of tab view "maintab"
		delete contents of text field "thecustomer" of tab view item "tabnew" of tab view "maintab"
	end tell

else if name of theObject is "create" then
	tell window "Sherpa v1.0.5"
		try
			set myJob to contents of text field "thejob" of tab view item "tabnew" of tab view "maintab" as string
			set myDate to contents of text field "thedate" of tab view item "tabnew" of tab view "maintab" as string
			set myCustomer to contents of text field "thecustomer" of tab view item "tabnew" of tab view "maintab" as string