noobie here...Need help with visible/invisible in Finder

Hello all, this is an awesome website, and i hope to learn a lot here. This is my first “program” in AppleScript, and I just need some pointers. Here is the code (go easy:)):
set HideFile to display dialog “Hidden Files Visible or Invisible?” buttons {“Visible”, “Invisible”} default button “Visible”

set HideFile to display dialog "Hidden Files Visible or Invisible?" buttons {"Visible", "Invisible"} default button "Visible"
if HideFile = "Visible" then
	do shell script "defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles TRUE"
else
	do shell script "defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles FALSE"
end if
do shell script "killall Finder"

I know some terminal commands, but I’m new to AppleScript, so if there is a way to do this “terminal free”, that would be awesome.

The code will not make the files invisible. If I do the Invisible command through the Terminal, however, the AppleScript “Visible” WILL work. Can someone tell me what’s breaking it?

Also, how would I apply a “sudo” password through AppleScript?

Thanks for the help!

with administrator privileges is the line you need.

set HideFile to display dialog "Hidden Files Visible or Invisible?" buttons {"Visible", "Invisible"} default button "Visible"
	do shell script "defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles TRUE" with administrator privileges
else
	do shell script "defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles FALSE" with administrator privileges
end if

Thanks for the quick reply, but I’m getting this now:

Expected “given”, “with”, “without”, other parameter name, etc. but found identifier.

EDIT: There is no space in between “administrator” and “priveleges”.

The code still will not make the files invisible however. :confused:

it took me a second but it was always coming up invisable notice the change in the second line.
but this works for me with out admin priveleges