Novice Needs someone to write script(s) for iTunes

I’m new to Mac and need some help. I’m willing to pay for it. Anyone know a site or scriptbiulder who can help? I did a “consolidate library” with nearly 5,000 songs. Only what happened is it copied my backup iTunes folder from another external drive, so I have a good library of about 80 gigs, but the actual folder takes up twice that space as there are dups of nearly every tune with an “01” in the name. Dreading doing this one by one, I THINK I need to delete the copies with “01”, and redirect my library to the originals, or alternatively to delete the originals that do indeed have duplicates, then change the titles to delete the “01”, then redirect the library…?? In any case, I want to clean up the folder back to 80 gigs and to not lose any of my songs! Can anyone help?? Jeffe (jeffe@tpg.com.au)

Model: Powerbook G4 running iTunes 5.01 (4)
Browser: Safari 312.3.1
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.3.9)

first let me suggest the low-tech solution. erase everything from your itunes music folder (the path to that is ‘Home:Music:iTunes’), unmount the backup drive, and reconsolidate. when itunes consolidates it doesn’t move the originals, it just makes copies in the iTunes folder, so unless you’ve done something funky (like moved or stored music directly in the iTunes folder by hand) all your music will still exist. then when you consolidate without the backup drive connected, it will copy only one version of the file, and your problems will be solved.

now the medium-tech solution. if you really want to pay for software, go get File Buddy (or one of the other disk and file maintenance applications that are out there). it will cost you $15 dollars or so, and it’s a whiz at finding and deleting duplicate files. you can download a copy from Pure Mac http://www.pure-mac.com/ in Disk and File section (look under Utilities).