NSTextView for logging... not even close!

Hi,

I’m just starting out in AppleScript. I’m writing what will become a universal app that I can deploy to a bunch of machines of varied vintage.

My problem du jour centers around an Interface that has some very plain elements: text fields, popup buttons, and a text view to spit out informational messages. I considered the text view as an alternative to dialogs and alerts because it can be as informative and simultaneously unobtrusive as I need it to be.

The offending routine is as follows:

on appendLogging(catText)
	set mainText to "sample text"
	set theObject to "MainWindow"
	tell text view 1 of scroll view 1 of theObject
		set mainText to contents & return
		set contents to mainText & catText
	end tell
end appendLogging

The phenomena:
a) using “text view “textPanel”” et al produces error “Can’t make “textPanel” into type integer. (-1700)”
b) using “text view 1” et al produces error “Can’t get <> 1 of MainWindow”. (-1728)"
c) using “content” versus “contents” seems to make no difference
d) these occurrences are too early in the routine to try a “log” statement.

I don’t know enough about the underlying programming doodads to make any valuable deductions from the error messages in a) and b). Can anyone help me to understand what’s going on?

Edit: Sorry, I can’t read. :rolleyes:

The line…

set theObject to "MainWindow"

…should probably read…

set theObject to window "MainWindow"

I strongly recommend avoiding the use of numbered references to objects. Provide an applescript name for every object you intend to reference programmatically, as you appear to have done with your window, and reference them using their unique name. Also, using ‘content’ instead of ‘contents’ can (but doesn’t always) make a difference, so I would recommend sticking to using ‘content’ unless you have a good reason not to. It’s just a good habit to get into, in my opinion.

Something along these lines is what I might use…