Numbers - transposing a worksheet

Hello,

I am new in manipulating a MAC number worksheet in AppleScript. I’ve done a research for “Numbers” on this forum and could not find any examples.

I want to transpose all rows of a worksheet into columns.

The current worksheet contains 4 fields (Obs, Date, Hours and okWh). Each row contains a time period for a given day. The hours are always the same (00:00, 04:00, 08:00, 12:00, 16:00 and 20:00) for up to 2190 rows (365 days). The file is to filled once a month.

Kind regards!

[AppleScript]
tell application “Numbers”
activate
tell the first table of the active sheet of document 1
set numbofrec to row count

repeat with currentrow from 1 to row count
		set info to value of cell "D" & (currentrow as string)
		display dialog "Rows: " & numbofrec & " row: " & currentrow & " data: " & info
		set currentrow to currentrow + 1
	end repeat
end tell

end tell
end tell[/AppleScript]

Model: MacBook Pro Monterey version 12.2.1
Browser: Safari 605.1.15
Operating System: macOS 12

If you have a recent version of Numbers (eg 11.2) you can do this much more effectively with a pivot table https://support.apple.com/en-gb/guide/numbers/tan7f62056cf/mac.

You could do it with AppleScript, but it would be painfully slow as it would involve creating a new table and then duplicating the data for at least 2190 individual cells (more in leap years…)

WOW, I just do not understand why I did not think of that.

You are absolutely correct!

I’ve just done it and it was a peace of cake.

Many thanks!

:slight_smile: Glad I could help!

Belatedly, it is possible to transpose the source data in applescript, albeit with a heavy dose of the shell. It can be written more efficiently (i.e. without making the intermediary files) but it is probably clearer with them. It should handle a full year of data with minimal effort.

-- set up paths to files
-- `source.txt` is data from input table (on desktop), other files will be created based on data