Old ASS Log vs new ASOC log

Hi,

I have some difficult to understand the new mode that xCode use when log data (compared to old ASS).
PS: I’m new to Xcode 4.x and all his changes…
In particular seems there is no visual differences between list and records.
Following the Shane book at page 30 if you log the variable tempList you get in Xcode 4.1 the following (in the Target output window):

2011-08-08 14:21:49.970 tabella[2021:707] (
{
paperino = 0;
pippo = Applications;
pluto = aaa;
},
{
paperino = 0;
pippo = Desktop;
pluto = aaa;
},
{
paperino = 0;
pippo = Documents;
pluto = aaa;
},
{
paperino = 0;
pippo = Downloads;
pluto = aaa;
},
{
paperino = 0;
pippo = Library;
pluto = aaa;
},
{
paperino = 0;
pippo = Movies;
pluto = aaa;
},
{
paperino = 0;
pippo = Music;
pluto = aaa;
},
{
paperino = 0;
pippo = Pictures;
pluto = aaa;
},
{
paperino = 0;
pippo = Public;
pluto = aaa;
},
{
paperino = 0;
pippo = “apu_tmp”;
pluto = aaa;
}
)

The field pluto has fixed string with value aaa but from the log it seems not a string.
Same concept for field pippo where all values except api_tmp are not inside double quotes. Why?

The same result when you log the display selection (as in Shane book example to page 27)
The only string between double quotes is the name of custom folder created on my Home directory.
And another strange behavior is that even is the selection from array controller is coerced as list the log is written like “as record”.

(
{
paperino = 0;
pippo = “apu_tmp”;
pluto = aaa;
}
)

All this is normal or I need to know something else?

Stefano

This is normal. If the string is in one word, it does not present it between " ". Don’t know why, but I can assure you that it is a string. If it is an Cocoa object, you could test it with the className method of NSObject. And I think there was something similar in ASS… the class command from System Events maybe? Not sure…

I, for one, prefer the new layout especially when it is arrays, the layout is much cleaner. :slight_smile: