On Will Close Doesn't Function

Hello,

I’m a bit of a newbie AppleScript coder. I’m working on a small application in AppleScript Studio, it’s basically a droplet that also has a main window that’s opened at launch. So far, that part is working fine.

I’m trying to save preferences from a preference window when it’s closed. I’ve set up the “on will close” handler in IB studio on the Preferences window, but nothing seems to happen when I run the program and close the window using the OS X close buttons (for lack of a better term).

This is the code I’m using:

on will close theObject
	-- Save preference file
	set prefsave to "pref-file"
	set this_file to (((path to preferences folder) as text) & "Prefs")
	my write_to_file(prefsave, this_file, false)
end will close

I have a write_to_file function declared later in the file, which has been tested to work fine elsewhere. Absolutely nothing I put inside of this “on will close” area reacts when I close the preference window. Not even a dialog message.

Any ideas? Is this not working because this is a AppleScript Droplet project, or for another reason? I can always use a button instead, but this seems a lot more user-friendly right now.

Thanks for your help,
Brandon

Hi,

I am not sure what your problem is but let me just hazard a guess… which requires me to ask you a question.

Did you make up the “on will close” handler yourself or did it come up after you connect the “on will close” handler in the IB to your script?

If you didn’t connect the handler to your script it will not work. You need to get to the AppleScript pane in the IB (command-8) and then click in the “windows” menu of that pane the “on will close” handler box. Then, click the link to your script at the bottom of the pane. If you click “Edit”, you will be brought back to your script. What’s more, Xcode will already give you the “on will close” handler, ready to be filled up with your script.

If you did the above, then you may have a different problem.