opening a file in bbedit.

nothing confusing, right?
plain and simple?

i want a script that will open 1 or more files on my hdd (which will become a template .htm and also a .css file in the future). i’m new to this whole thing and have decided to use the record function to do it.

anyways, i’ve run the “record” option and had 'script watch me open a file on my hdd
when i was finished, i clicked “stop”. 'script filled in all of my lovely information, including “open window list”

i clicked check syntax and closed bbedit. after i did that, i ran the script and i got a message saying:

“bbedit got an error: Can’t get {file “hdd name:Users:username:filefolder:filefolder:file”}”

applescript wrote the 'script itself. why isn’t it working?
why didn’t that work?

-mathew

I tried the same thing here in BBEdit and it worked. So maybe we did something a bit different. Here’s what I did…

1. I launched BBEdit and created a new text document named 12345
  2. Saved it to my desktop
  3. Closed the new document and opened the Script Editor
  4. Hit the record button
  5. Went to the Dock and clicked BBEdit’s icon
  6. Went to the File Menu to Open and selected file 12345
  7. Went back to the Script Editor and hit Stop

Here’s the script it recorded

tell application "BBEdit"
	activate
	open {file "MyDrive:Users:MyName:Desktop:12345"} with LF translation
end tell

It sounds like you didn’t have a document for BBEdit to open.

BBEdit is recordable but the Finder is not, so any actions like double clicking a file will not get recorded.

here’s the steps i took:

open script editor.
click record.
click bbedit in the dock.
click file/open.
navigate through the sheet that comes down to the file i wanted (in this case, style.css).
select the script editor and click stop.
close bbedit.
run script.
“BBEdit got an error: Can’t get {file:etc.}”

i think i tried the same thing that you did. could it be that the file is buried too deep on my hdd? if so, i think that’s pretty silly.