opening file using variable

Hi,

I’m having trouble (yes, I’m a novice indeed!) opening files using the “open” applescript command. To be a little more specific: what I want to do is to tell MPlayer to open a movie of my choice. Now, if I tell Mplayer to “open [“file.avi”]” it opens the file using the default application that the file is set to open with (Quicktime, for example), instead of MPlayer. Changing the line to "open alias [“file.avi”] works fine, the file is opened in MPlayer just like I want it to, but when I’m using a variable (which is what I want to do) instead of typing the filename manually, I get the following applescript error:

“Can’t make «class docf» “MOVIE.AVI” of «class cfol» “MOVIE_FOLDER” of «class cfol» “SUB_FOLDER” of «class cfol» “Users” of «class sdsk» of application “Finder” into the expected type.”

I’ve tried telling Finder to “open the_selection using MPlayer” as well, but it doesn’t work either. Below is a simplified (and rather pointless) version of the script. Any kind of help is really appreciated.

Thanks!
Arnold

property movie_folder : alias “HD:Movies:”

tell application “Finder”
set movie_library to choose folder with prompt “Choose a folder:”
set current_folder to movie_library
set folder_name to name of current_folder
set file_list to name of every item of current_folder
set folder_list to {current_folder}
set the_selection to item 1 of current_folder
end tell

tell application “MPlayer OS X 2”
open alias the_selection
end tell

Does it work if you change this: open alias the_selection

To this: open alias (the_selection as text)

:?:

– Rob

No, not really. That opens MPlayer, but returns the following error (just as it does if I tell Finder to “open the_selection using MPlayer”, except that it in that case the file opens with its default app): “MPlayer OS X 2 got an error: alias “HD:Movies:Movie.avi” doesn’t understand the open message.”