Opening, Saving, then closing files

I appreciate everyone’s help and time, I’m learning a lot. I hope no one feels like I’m having you guys practically write my script for me, I do spend a lot of time trying to figure this out on my own. I’m just very new at this.

I think I’ve got almost everything working, only a few things left that I can’t figure out.

1. The list of files I’m selecting; I am unable to figure out how to open just the first one, run the script on the first file, then go back and start over with the second file in the list and so on.
    2)I can’t figure out how to save to the folder I have selected, and how to save by pulling the original file name and adding “1-16”, “2-15”, and so on
    3)I’m sure this is easy, but I must be slow: how do I close the file at the end, leaving the application running?

Thanks!

-- 1)
set chosenfiles to my choosefiles()
if chosenfiles is missing value then
	return
end if
-- 2)
set filepaths to my getfilepaths(chosenfiles)
-- 3)
set outfilenames to my getoutfilenames(chosenfiles)
-- 4)
set OutputFolder to my chooseoutputfolder()
if OutputFolder is missing value then
	return
end if
end run

-- I am asking the user to choose files to process
-- In case the user cancels the dialog, I return «missing value»
on choosefiles()
	try
		set chosenfiles to choose file with prompt "Please choose files to process:" with multiple selections allowed without invisibles
		return chosenfiles
	on error
		return missing value
	end try
end choosefiles

-- I am asking the user to choose an output folder
-- In case the user cancels the dialog, I return «missing value»
on chooseoutputfolder()
	try
		set chosenfolder to choose folder with prompt "Please choose an output folder:" without multiple selections allowed and invisibles
		return chosenfolder
	on error
		return missing value
	end try
end chooseoutputfolder

-- I am turning a list of Finder items (aliases) into a list of file path strings (Mac, not Posix)