OS 9, Illustrator 10, Selecting Menu Items, and Color Modes

I am relatively new to coding AppleScripts, but I guess I have jumped in to something that I am fast realizing is a problem that may be unsolvable on this OS 9 system.

My problem is that I need to create a script that automates opening a couple hundred EPS files, convert them from RGB to CMYK (only accessible through a File → Color Mode → CMYK menu), run an action, save, and close.

I am sure that running actions is possible through scripting, I just haven’t been able to find how… but a bigger problem is accessing the colour mode. In OS X (with it’s ability to access “System Events”) it is a little easier it seems, but perhaps someone here knows a work-around.

I am able to do some of it pretty easily myself, based on running a script that works on all open documents, saving and closing. My problem is accessing Illustrator’s actions, and accessing a menu item that has no shortcut. Can anybody help me out?

P.S. This forum is great! I’ve learned more just reading through posts than I have in some of the books that have been passed to me.

Thanks,

Scott

Couldn’t you just do a save as setting the EPS Save options?

Here is an example from Page 69 of the Illustrator 9 scripting guide. You should be able to find something similar on your Illustrator 10 CD. I could not test it but I’d guess if you change "tell application “Adobe Illustrator® 9.0"” to "tell application “Adobe Illustrator® 10"” it would work?

Example 9.1
This handler processes a folder of Illustrator files, saving each as an EPS file with level 2
PostScript and Illustrator 9 compatibility. The files are save to the folder specified in the
destinationFolder parameter. Note that the class property is specified in the record to
ensure that Illustrator can determine the save option class.

-- fileList is a list of aliases to Illustrator files
-- destinationFolder is an alias to a folder where the EPS files are to be saved