PDFKit findstring using regex

Hi,

I’m new to this lark and struggling a little. I can successfully search a PDF for a specific string, but I’m struggling to get the regex option to work. The documentation implies that if I set the regex option in “withOptions” it uses the search string as a regex expression.

But I get nothing.

use AppleScript version "2.4" -- Yosemite (10.10) or later
use framework "Foundation"
use scripting additions

# Test PDF
# https://docs.oracle.com/en/database/oracle/oracle-database/19/cncpt/database-concepts.pdf

on searchPDFnoRegex:posixPath forString:searchString
        set theURL to current application's class "NSURL"'s fileURLWithPath:posixPath
        set thePDF to current application's PDFDocument's alloc()'s initWithURL:theURL
        set theMatches to (thePDF's findString:searchString withOptions:0)
        log ("Number of Hits " & (count of theMatches))
end searchPDFnoRegex:forString:

on searchPDFwithRegex:posixPath forString:searchString
        set theURL to current application's class "NSURL"'s fileURLWithPath:posixPath
        set thePDF to current application's PDFDocument's alloc()'s initWithURL:theURL
        set theMatches to (thePDF's findString:searchString withOptions:((current application's NSRegularExpressionSearch)))
        log ("Number of Hits " & (count of theMatches))
end searchPDFwithRegex:forString:

set theFile to "/Users/home/database-concepts.pdf"

log ("Regex option not set")
my searchPDFnoRegex:theFile forString:"Oracle"
#Reports 2698 hits

log ("Regex option set, but no wildcards")
my searchPDFwithRegex:theFile forString:"Oracle"
#Reports 2698 hits

log ("Regex option set, with wildcards")
my searchPDFwithRegex:theFile forString:"Oracl."
#Reports 0 hits

Please could some kind sole suggest what I might be doing wrong ?

Thanks