Performing file functions on itunes tracks

I’m very new to applescript but have a done a good deal of programming. It does not seem though that I am able to use applescript to perform functions on tracks in itunes however and was hoping for some guidance. I am basically just wanting to move files to external storage if they are low rating and keep high rated songs on my hard drive but keep them all in my library for when I have the external drive connected.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

A great iTunes scripting resource is Doug’s AppleScripts => www.dougscripts.com

Cheers,

Craig

Oh contrair, mofrair:lol:

Applescript is all about controlling files associated with iTunes and playlists and such.

What you want to do could become a nice customized script. Let’s try this approach:

*First use iTunes to create a playlist that updates to your least played songs. Then you can use iTunes or the Finder to move the files to your external drive without deleting them from the master playlist.

From the iTunes “File” menu create a “New Smart Playlist”

Determine how many songs you have in your library. I have 177. That’s small but we’ll use the example.

Here is where your script will be custom; Deselect “Match the following rule:” in the new playlist dialog, select "Limit to _ items selected by least recently played. I chose to use limit to 75 items. You may want to set your limit to 100, 1000, whatever you want sent to the external drive.

Name the playlist “Least Played Tracks”. It is now a self updating list of your least played songs that you can use as your reference to the files to be moved.

tell application "iTunes" to set LeastPlayedTracks to (location of file tracks of playlist "Least Played")

to get access to the files
or

tell application "iTunes" to set LeastPlayedTracks to (file tracks of playlist "Least Played")

for an iTunes reference