Photoshop CS2 - does imgage contain a path or not?

Hello MacScripter-Community !

Before I ask for some support I would like to share with you where I and my questions come from. As a photographer I now work for a company with lots of products which have all been photographed in the past - to photograph the new products is my job. So I have enherited a large archive of digital images - unfortunately they do not compile with our new standards settings for images, as they are totally mixed up in format, size, colour space, profiles, names, pathes, colour mode and so on.
One of my tasks is now to uniform all of our images in many different aspects. As I can perform a lot of tasks in Photoshop it seems that some demands can only be accomplished by AppleScript. I am on my way to learn AppleScript but it is not as easy as I thought it might be - but I am willing to learn and any help within this process is greatly appreciated from my side.

What I need to do:

I need to know if an image contains a path at all. If it does: fine - if it doesn´t; can this image be copied to a different folder?

I know this isn´t the most difficult task - but any tries from my side won´t work since I am an absolut beginner in Scripting. I maybe understand the script but would not be able to write it myself. Could anyone be so kind an help me on this?

Many thanks in advance,

Martin

Model: Power PC G5 2.3 Hz
AppleScript: 2.1.1(81) / 1.10.7
Browser: Firefox 2.0.0.4
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

Welcome, John.
I think some terminology needs to be clarified. are you asking if an image is found in some location? An image HAS TO have a path (or else, where would it be found?!?) The only exception I can think of is when you’re working on a unsaved document (then your “path” is in RAM somewhere).

Briefly outline what you’d like to do.

Cheers,
Jim Neumann
BLUEFROG

P.S. James, I beat you to it today! :stuck_out_tongue: