Pirates vs. Ninjas – Using AppleScript as an Object-Oriented Language

I’ve been coming to this site for many years and thought it was time to give something back. If you’ve heard about Object-Oriented Programming and wondering what the big deal is, this is the tutorial for you.

It’s at www.robotjackalope.com . Please post any questions, comments or suggestions.

Sorry… but i don’t see anything different as what you see anywhere else on macscripter.
Or isn’t that the point but rather giving a (really nice) applescript tutorial?

thanks anyway!

Object oriented programming explained on MacScripter? Tell me more. I should modify my post if it’s coming across this way. Thanks for the reply!

http://macscripter.net/viewtopic.php?id=39424

BTW, you may have fixed this, but I found some of your pages were near-repeats.

Oh, I hope I did but I’ll look through it again. Please let me know which page/pages. Much appreciated!

It was about two-thirds of the way through. Sorry, but I find so many pages painful to deal with.

FWIW, I find AS’s OOP support quite intriguing. But in the end it seems to me it comes up short. And that, combined with the lack of a built-in loading method to make it usable, renders it largely of academic interest (to me). It’s a pity – but then AS is the land of pity…

2/3’s the way through is very helpful. I’m really glad you mentioned AppleScript class loaders. I actually created a way to do this and was planning on posting on this onto my blog once I hammered the details down on this post. However, if you’re interested, download from my github repository. I’m not saying it’s ‘perfect’ but I think the bones are there. https://github.com/caoimghgin/AS-OOP

There are several loaders around, and I suspect they’re quite good. But none of them are built-in, and that’s the problem from a deployment perspective – they end up being more cumbersome than things like scripting additions or helper apps (not to mention usually slower and more limited).