Please Help. compare two excel files. Can't get the find command to

Hello, I’m new to applescript. I have excel 2008 and Mac osx 10.5. I’m trying to write a script to compare column B of one excel file to column B of the another excel file.

I will have to had a repeat loop to proceed down the column but I’m stuck on the find command.

Below is some of the code I have so far. The applescript error message is “Microsoft Excel got an error: The object you are trying to access does not exist. It highlights the find column.”

set patientFile to choose file with prompt "Please select the patient Excel file:"
set patientName to name of (info for patientFile)
tell application "Microsoft Excel"
open patientFile
set thepatientFile to workbook patientName
end tell

display dialog "Is your patient SNP data in column B of the " & " " & patientName & " " & "excel file?" buttons {"No", "Yes"} default button 2
if the button returned of the result is "No" then
display dialog "Please put your data in column B" buttons {"Cancel"} default button 1
if the button returned of the result is "Cancel" then
end if

else
display dialog "Is column E empty? The results of this program will be stored in column E of the" & " " & patientName & " " & "excel file." buttons {"No", "Yes"} default button 2

display dialog "Please put your data in empty column E" buttons {"Cancel"} default button 1
  end if
else
  set relativeFile to choose file with prompt "Please select the relative Excel file:"
  set relativeName to name of (info for relativeFile)
  open relativeFile
  set therelativeFile to workbook relativeName
  end tell
end if
end if

display dialog "Is your relative SNP data in column B of the" & " " & relativeName & " " & "excel file?" buttons {"No", "Yes"} default button 2
display dialog "Please put your data in column B" buttons {"Cancel"} default button 1
end if
else