Please Help Writing Folder Action to Change the Name

Hello All,
I’m new to Applescript and to AppleScript.net but I can’t get this seemingly simple Folder Action to work. I want to change the name of a pdf file dropped in a hot folder to change the name to After.pdf. This is assuming that only one file will be dropped and the file is already a pdf. I tried writing this code from samples I’ve read but it just doesn’t work. Can anyone help me?

Here is my code:

on adding folder items to this_folder after receiving dropped_items
	tell application "Finder"
		set the_dropped_file_name of dropped_items to "After.pdf"
	end tell
end adding folder items to

Thank you

dropped_items is a list, e.g. {alias “Disk:Users:user:Desktop:item.ext”}, even if it’s just one item. Since the Finder can’t rename a list, it will error. The solution is to change the line to handle item 1 of dropped_items. Also, the_dropped_file_name variable isn’t appropriate. The Finder accesses the name of a Finder item through the name property.

tell application "Finder" to set name of item 1 of dropped_items to "After.pdf"

Also of note: after renaming the item, the item is counted as added to the folder, which will trigger the Folder Action once again. I’ve got to go right now, but I’ll look for a script I’ve got floating around where I tried to work around this.

In addition to JB’s excellent point, a few other points:

1. You can name “this_folder” and “dropped_items” anything you like - they are just variables holding the data.

2. When there’s a possibility of errors, it’s a good idea to put the error-prone stuff in a “try” block like this:

try
	on error theError -- "theError" can be whatever you choose to call it
		display dialog theError
	end try

If you had done that to your script (with the name part changed but without the “item 1”), the error message would have told you that there was a problem with trying to get the name of a what it saw as a list.

Wow Thanks Joseph and Adam,