ppntsttg, aevtobit, misccpub, miscimgr ...

I’m trying to understand the following events, but I’m unable to find any documentation. Can someone help me? I’m just beginning to learn this sort of things.

«event aevtobit» Sent to an application that launched another application when the launched application quits or terminates?
«event misccpub» create publisher? (Connectivity Suite)
«event miscimgr» ImageGraphic?
«event miscedit» edit?
«event miscisun» Is uniform?
«event miscmvis» reveal, show
«event ppntsttg» (Quicktime suite? Even if listed under ppnt?)

Where did you get this list?

I think I recognize some of them, but they come from very old apps (ie, “miscisun” from Quark 3’s “uniform”). “ppntsttg”, for example, stands for SetTellTarget which, as far as I know, never had an useful use (while it was implemented in a high num of apps → or just “copied” instead of “implemented”).

For example, SetTellTarget was included allways in a suite called “Miscellaneous Odds and Ends”. Perhaps this suite was some kind of developer tool included in any ancient AppleScript SDK (ie, the one shipped with AS 1.3.4), but not something with a real use (?).

This smells to some kind of old “standard apple event implementation” in a ‘aedt’ resource (apple-event-dispatch-table) → ie, a powerplant application. But nothing useful (I think). Anyway, you can try these apple-events against the target application and see if it invokes some kind of reaction :smiley:

Oh, the last one do.
I actually cannot recommend anybody to try «event ppntsttg».
The effect of it is not quite clear to me, but I try to explain the results, you might be able to tell me what happened. It raised my hugest curiosity.

Called in a second level tell block to anApp identifyed by ID (within a repeat parsing for IDs of different versions of one app), it first quitted my Debugger without dialog or error.
Trying to reopen it happened again.
Trying to open in Apple’s Script Editor, it launched Debugger.