prepend or append path of selected file(s) to file(s) and move

I am a complete newbie when it comes to programming and scripting on Mac OS X but I have had some experience doing simple programs in the past in Unix.

Anyway, I would like to select files on a Mac that are in a folder and copy them to a new folder and rename them to include the path of the original folder.
So for example.
baseFolder:originals is the folder path
The originals folder will contain one to several files. e.g. filename1.pdf, filename2.pdf, etc
I want to select one or more of the files and send them to new folder like → WorkFolder:
with a new name that includes path. I would like to have delimiter between folders that is pc compatible.
So in the example filename1.pdf would be moved to WorkFolder and renamed to baseFolder-originals-filename1.pdf
Thanks in advance if you can help.
Regards,
Bruce

Hi,

try this

set destinationFolder to choose folder
tell application "Finder" to set sel to selection
set TID to text item delimiters
repeat with oneItem in sel
	set text item delimiters to ":"
	set pathItems to text items of (oneItem as text)
	set text item delimiters to "-"
	set newName to pathItems as text
	set theSource to quoted form of POSIX path of (oneItem as text)
	set theDestination to quoted form of ((POSIX path of destinationFolder) & newName)
	do shell script "/bin/cp -pr " & theSource & space & theDestination
end repeat
set text item delimiters to TID

HI Stefan,
You are awesome… I figured out how to add to automator so that I could drag and drop the files on to the script.
I would like to hardwire the destination folder into the script instead of allowing the user to choose a folder.
I suppose that should be as simple as setting your first line from ‘set destinationFolder to choose folder’
to 'set destinationFolder to . Are there any rules for setting a path? I suppose if I look through the numerous results on this forum I could find this but if you have time. :wink: