Progress bar not always in color

I have an app with a progress bar that runs during an “on open” handler.

There’s also a “settings” window that will only open it the app is launched from the Finder (not with “on open”). (Actually, it’s set to show in an “on activate” handler to prevent it from opening before the “on open” handler is accessed - this way my “on open” handler can flag the “settings” window to not show).

Here’s the problem:
If I drop files on the app while it is already open from a Finder launch, the progress bar is in color; otherwise, without first launching the app THEN dropping files on it in the Finder, the progress bar is greyed out.

What is the key to ensuring that the progress bar is always in color? Any suggestions are greatly apprecialted.

BTW, I’ve tried fooling with the window as a “panel” or “window”; tried making “key” or “main”; tried setting index of window to “1”; but as I’m still learning, I may not be doing some of these things correctly.

Thanks,
acciuga

Hi,

Try putting:

tell me
activate
end tell

Before telling the progress bar to do anything.

Thanks Elijah,
But, it still behaves exactly as before.
Any other ideas?
acciiuga

well there is a setting to change a progress bar’s style if you look in the Xcode AS dictionary (via the script editor) but i once tried it and it did not work. but i might have done something incorrect. try it and let me know

the indicated part (and the relevant part in bold)…

When an application is in the background, the GUI elements are given a gray tint, so more than your progress bar should be gray (any buttons, the x - + gems in top left corner, etc). If this is the case, it’s just that your application is processing the files before processing the “activate” event it received.

If this bothers you, try something like this:

property queuedOpenFiles: {}
on open theseFiles
	-- add files to the open queue
	set the end of queuedOpenFiles to theseFiles
end open

on idle