Prompt User for Resize Image Script Help

Hello. I’m new to applescript and have been tasked with a project to help our bloggers resize iimages. I want this script to ask them what size and then resize/scale to that specific size.

Here is the code i’ve pieced together from various sources.

on open some_items
	repeat with this_item in some_items
		try
			rescale_and_save(this_item)
		end try
	end repeat
end open

to rescale_and_save(this_item)
	tell application "Image Events"
		launch
		set theSize to choose from list {"50", "100", "150", "200", "250", "300", "350", "400"} with prompt "What size do you want to scale to?"
		set the target_width to theSize
		-- open the image file
		set this_image to open this_item

set typ to this_image's file type

copy dimensions of this_image to {current_width, current_height}
		if current_width is greater than current_height then
			scale this_image to size target_width
		else
			-- figure out new height
			-- y2 = (y1 * x2) / x1
			set the new_height to (current_height * target_width) / current_width
			scale this_image to size new_height
		end if

tell application "Finder" to set new_item to ¬
			(container of this_item as string) & "scaled." & (name of this_item)
		save this_image in new_item as type

end tell
end rescale_and_save

Any suggestions? Ideally the user would drop the image on the ScriptApp and it would prompt for size then go about it’s business. As it is now, it doesn’t work but doesn’t return any errors. If i make a breakthrough on my own, i’ll post it here.

Thanks in advance!

BG

Because you have the call to the subroutine handler surrounded by a “try/end try” block, it won’t return any errors. Until it’s debugged, I would remove the try/end try lines (or comment them out) to see what is really going on.

Thank you both for the suggestions. I’m going to try them now and report back on the results.