Quitting an app within SheepShaver ...

Hi,

I need previous accounting data created in OS 9, so I use the SheepShaver emulator on my Intel machine … It’s a great all-in-one solution.

I am not a programmer neither a technical expert, so my vocabulary can be misleading. I use SheepShaver from within Classic-On-Intel. It seems to be a little «app» that launches SheepShaver with a specific prefigured configuration. When Classic-On-Intel is launched, it launches a process nested inside Classic-On-Intel called COI.

Concretely on my desktop computer, I see:

¢ an icon in my dock named COI
¢ a SheepShaver OS X application menubar and a window named SheepShaver
¢ inside that SheepShaver window lives OS 9 and my OS 9 application named Simply Accounting (SA)

I am trying to quit SA and SheepShaver by script. I don’t know how to speak to SA that lives inside COI. I tried with this little script to quit COI, but I need to press the return key and it doesn’t work. This is the script:

quit application "COI"
tell application "System Events"
	keystroke (ASCII character 3)
end tell

In the AppleScript Editor I get this response:

tell application "COI"
	quit
		--> error number 0
end tell
	ASCII character 3
		--> error number -10004
end tell
tell current application
	ASCII character 3
		--> ""
end tell
	keystroke ""
end tell

I tried to understand what’s happening … and I have to admit that I don’t ! First, I do I quit SA ? When done, to quit COI, I need to press the return key. How do I do that ? Maybe somebody has a clue …

Regards.

Robert Lespérance
Québec, Canada

rlesperance:

I’m not set up to answer your question with any precision. I just bought an Intel MacBook Pro, but it’s still in the box. I expect to be trying SheepShaver (in some form) when I get around to setting up the MBP. (My PB G4 is serving me just fine for the moment.)