Random Password Generator

I’m a bit of a rookie when it comes to AppleScript and I could do with a hand, if anyone can help please?

I’m trying to write a fairly simple script (to be turned into an app) to generate random passwords for a NGO that I’m working with.

So far I have this …

set theCharacters to "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyzABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ0123456789!@#$%^&()_±=[]{};':"|,.<>/?`~"*
set thePassword to “”
repeat (12) times
set randomCharacter to some character of theCharacters
set thePassword to thePassword & randomCharacter
end repeat
return thePassword

Things I really want to change …

When people run the script ideally I want to make initially open up a dialogue box giving users the ability to set the password length (with a 12 character default minimum) and a button say something like, “Generate”.

I want to set the number of numbers and special characters into the password to something like one of each for a 12 character password, 2 of each for 13-23 character passwords, 3 of each for 24-34 character passwords and 4 of each for any password that has 35-50 characters.

When they hit this button it needs to take them through to a further dialogue box showing the password and three buttons - copy password and quit, copy and generate another password, quit.

I’m fairly certain I know how to get the dialogue boxes to appear because I’ve done scripts with these in them before …

display dialog “Thanks for your donation. I really do genuinely appreciate it.” buttons ¬
{“Quit”, “Thanks!”} ¬
default button “Thanks!”

… but the setting the numbers and characters bit is really throwing me.

Can anyone help please?

Hi.

You can include a default answer parameter with display dialog, which will add a field in which the user can enter text, eg.:

repeat
	set numberOfCharacters to text returned of ¬
		(display dialog "How many characters would you like in the password?" default answer "12")
	try
		set numberOfCharacters to numberOfCharacters as integer