Read a folder structure

Hi, my background is knowledgeable about other programming languages, unitiated with AppleScript.

Anyway, my current task is to read a folder structure without knowing what folder will be in it, nor what folders will have inside of them. It seems that get the entire contents of a folder will return every folder or file nestled within the folder, but as a flat list. I would like a list of lists, each list representing a folder, and a reference to a file at the “end” of the branching in the “final” list(s).

It seems that recursive functions are the way to go.

My first question is “Is that correct?”

My second question, assuming that the answer to the first is “Yes,” is what is the proper way to do this? I seem to get 70% of the way there then something goes kaput. I’m sure this is just my lack of experience in the AppleScript language, but I’ve also have not had good luck finding answers on the Internets.

Here’s the basic idea of what I’ve got so far…

set thePath to "/Users/dru/Library/Preferences/Macromedia/Flash Player/#SharedObjects/5CARVELE/"
set theMacPath to POSIX file thePath

tell application "Finder"
	set theFolders to my walkFolderStructure(folder theMacPath)
	log theFolders
end tell

on walkFolderStructure(theFolder)
	set theList to {}
	repeat with f in every item in theFolder as list
		set aFolder to walkFolderStructure(f)
		copy aFolder to the end of theList
	end repeat
	return theList
end walkFolderStructure

I seem to get odd results, though. Empty values in a list, or just “item 1”, etc. I’m obviously missing a key element or three.