REALLY custom About box

We’ve all seen (and probably implemented) About Boxes in our applications. The standard About Box provides a great bang for the effort (almost none), but the window isn’t resizeable, and the icon could be a smidge larger… and there doesn’t appear to have a way of modifying it.

I have (finally!!!) managed to get a richt text file (Credits.rtf) to display in a custom about box. Actually, I managed to get a .rtfd that has pictures to display. There is still a slight problem with an error if the custom “call method” isn’t inside a try block, but… since I tried for so long to get this to work, I imagine others could find it useful as well. It involves a bit of Cocoa to make the magic happen as I couldn’t do it with pure call methods.

The obvious side-effect of this is increased complexity. You could try and adapt this to a pre-existing application you might have (work on a copy of it just to be sure - after all, I’m pretty new at this too!):

Select “New File” from the Xcode File menu and choose a Cocoa Objective-C class (and check the box that says “also create xxx.h file” in your active target. Give it any name (in this example I used AboutRTFDCredits.m).

For AboutRTFDCredits.h:

#import <Foundation/Foundation.h>
#import <AppKit/AppKit.h>
#import <AppKit/NSAttributedString.h>

@interface NSApplication (ASKARFTDCredits)

// this custom method "setRTFDView:textview:" takes 2 parameters
// a POSIX path to where the Credits.rtfd file is located inside the application
//
// and a text view where the .rtfd file will be placed

- (void)setRTFDView:(NSString *)creditsPath textview:(NSTextView *)textView;

@end

For AboutRTFDCredits.m:

#import "AboutRTFDCredits.h"

@implementation NSApplication (ASKARFTDCredits)

// this cocoa implementation will interpret a Credits.rtfd file and display it in a text view

- (void)setRTFDView:(NSString *)creditsPath textview:(NSTextView *)textView
{