Reformatting Quark files

I work as a layout designer for a couple of magazines in Italy.
I spend most of the time re-formatting texts according to our styles (i.e. bold, italic, plain text, etc).
Is it possible to create a script that analizes a series of linked text boxes, if it encounters a " or a << it switches to a character style like italic, then when it encounters " again or >> it switches back to plain text again?
Maybe a bit confusing, but I know you can understand…:wink:
Thx,
Guido

Eeeh… yes. Quite confusing. Can you specify a bit more or give examples?

Ok, sorry.
I’ve got a long interview, right? I want the script to “read” the article and change to a predefined character style everything between “ and ” (or << and >>), in other words, everything the interviewed actually said has to be quoted in character style “Italic”.
Hope this throws a ray of light on my words…
Guido

I’m sure there is a much more elegant way of doing this using object references but in limited testing, this works:

tell application "QuarkXPress? 4.11"
    activate
    try
        tell document 1
            repeat with i from 1 to (count of stories)
                tell story i
                    set the_offsets to my get_offsets(contents, "?", "?")
                    repeat with this_offset in the_offsets
                        set style of (text from character (item 1 of this_offset) to character (item 2 of this_offset)) to italic
                    end repeat
                end tell
            end repeat
        end tell
    on error the_error
        display dialog the_error
    end try
end tell

on get_offsets(the_string, start_delim, end_delim)
    set {the_offsets, temp_string, last_position} to {{}, the_string, 0}
    repeat
        try
            set this_start to (last_position + (offset of start_delim in temp_string))
            set temp_string to (text this_start thru -1 of the_string)