Renaming folders from a CSV file.

Hi guys.

I have a load of folders I need to rename (thousands). At the moment, they are named as a barcode - this may be 12 or 13 digits long. The desired end result is to have it named as CAT#_barcode, where CAT# is the Catalog number for the barcode.

I have a csv file listing all the barcodes and corresponding catalog numbers - this csv file will contain barcodes that are not present in the folder of folders that need renaming. Ive been searching around for ways to do this. I am a complete novice at scripting anything, but generally if something follows some kind of logic I can get my head around it.

I’ve found this script which I think could work as a base:

(* 
 excel file where the first column is the new SKU name and the second column is the name of the photo that needs to be changed.

use excel to save as csv file -- comma separated

example file:
rename.csv
a,1
b,2
c,3

*)
on run
    -- Write a message into the event log.
    -- To see, 
    -- Run this applescript in Sript Editor. 
    -- Click on Event Log tab at bottom of screen.
    -- Click run.
    log "  --- Starting on " & ((current date) as string) & " --- "

-- Ask user for the name of the file
    set fileAlias to choose file with prompt "Pick the file with your list of files to rename."
    log fileAlias
    set aFile to fileAlias as text
    log "aFile = " & aFile

-- Ask user for the name of the folder
    set folderAlias to choose folder with prompt "Pick the folder that contains your list of files to rename."
    log folderAlias
    set aFolder to folderAlias as text

-- Based on Camelot's script in 
    -- http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2739645&tstart=0

set files2Rename to (paragraphs of (read file aFile))
    log files2Rename

repeat with eachFile in files2Rename
        log "eachFile = " & eachFile
        set splitData to textToList(eachFile, ",")

set oldName to item 1 of splitData
        set newName to item 2 of splitData