Return clicked word

I’m a newbie in applescript studio but i’ve writed in the past hypercard stacks. I want to get a word clicked (in a text view) to play a sound. For example if i click on the word “mouse”, the sound “mouse” is played. It was possible with hypercard but i can’t found with applescript studio

sorry for my english (im french !)

yvo

Salut Yvo,

unfortunately handling mouse clicks on single words/characters in a text view is not a standard feature. I don’t think it’s possible with AppleScript.
Here’s a solution using some Objective-C - implemented as a subclass of NSTextView. Since you wrote you were a ‘newbie’ here a step by step guide:

1. in Interface Builder:
  • click the ‘Classes’ tab of the Nib’s document window
  • select your Text View (not it’s enclosing scroll view)
  • in the Classes tab you should now see the object hierarchy to NSTextView selected
  • Ctrl-Click or Right-Mousebutton-Click (Context Menu) on the class NSTextView and choose ‘Subclass NSTextView’
  • Name the new Subclass - for example MyTextView
  • Choose ‘Create files for …’ from the new subclasses context menu
  • select your text view again and choose ‘Custom Class’ from the Inspector window (or activate it by pressing Apple + 5)
  • choose the new subclass for your text view
  • in the Instances Tab of the nib’s document window: connect File’s Owner to at least one of the handlers in your script
  1. in Xcode:
  • add a handler like this in your script:
on clickedWord(theWord)
	say theWord -- for example
end clickedWord

edit the subclass file MyTextView.m:

#import "MyTextView.h"

@implementation MyTextView

- (void)awakeFromNib {
	[[self window] setAcceptsMouseMovedEvents:YES];
}

- (void)mouseDown:(NSEvent *)theEvent{

NSLayoutManager *layoutManager = [self layoutManager];
    NSTextContainer *textContainer = [self textContainer];
    unsigned glyphIndex, charIndex;
    NSPoint point = [self convertPoint:[theEvent locationInWindow] fromView:nil];