"Robocopy" Script

Hello Guys,

I’m new to apple scripting and tried beginning on my own. I googled for hours before I found MacScripter and I did not find nothing coming close to this.

Here is what I need to create:
“Robocopy” application from server to the desktop. The file should have a new date and the script needs to able to identify this in order to copy the new file and replace the old one.

Details:
From time to time we upgrade one of our software and the software client needs to be replaced in order to work with the new database(Oracle).

The software client is stored in a server and each user would “connect to server” using SMB. I just need to create a script that could actually see the up-to-date file and replace the old file on the desktop.

Note: Each user auto-mounts a folder from the server on startup of their computer.

Which route should I go? Could Automator do this as well?

Thank you!

I guess I’m SOL here?

I’m looking for a small scriptable program that will do something like this for example:

copy application file from \Server\dirname\ to \desktop but with additional switches like:

• replace existing data only if source file modification date is newer than destination - otherwise skip

There’s got to be something like this for Mac OS X since it’s got Unix under the hood.

Thanks!

Hi,

something like this?

property fileName : "appFile.app"
property serverName : "server"
property serverPath : "path:to:directory:"

tell application "Finder"
	if exists disk serverName then
		set sourceFile to file (serverName & ":" & serverPath & fileName)
		if exists sourceFile then
			set destinationFile to file fileName of desktop
			if (not (exists destinationFile)) or (modification date of sourceFile comes after modification date of destinationFile) then
				duplicate sourceFile to desktop replacing yes
			end if
		end if
	end if
end tell

Hello StefanK,

Thank you for your feedback.