Run Apple Script with an AppleScript

Hello,

I’m quite new to AppleScript and I need one AppleScript to run other AppleScripts for encoding audio files in a batch. Each script will encode 4 files (i.e. one encoding process per processor).

An example of the scripts I need to run is:

tell application "Finder"
	do shell script "cd /Volumes/G5/usr/local/bin/;nice ./lame  -q 2 -b 320 -t   /Volumes/Lager/audio/wav/007895_Sharonas_RiotForHire_ohne_4.WAV  /Volumes/Lager/audio/mp3_320/007895_Sharonas_RiotForHire_ohne_4.WAV.mp3 & nice ./lame  -q 2 -b 320 -t   /Volumes/Lager/audio/wav/008725_LivioTracksRubenMandolini_31February_ohne_3.WAV  /Volumes/Lager/audio/mp3_320/008725_LivioTracksRubenMandolini_31February_ohne_3.WAV.mp3 & nice ./lame  -q 2 -b 320 -t   /Volumes/Lager/ftp/audio/wav/008821_Kon_Allthatshew_FrancescoConteGiorgioConteDanc.WAV  /Volumes/Lager/audio/mp3_320/008821_Kon_Allthatshew_FrancescoConteGiorgioConteDanc.WAV.mp3 & nice ./lame  -q 2 -b 320 -t   /Volumes/Lager/ftp/audio/wav/008822_Kon_Allthatshew_FrancescoConteGiorgioConteDanc.WAV  /Volumes/Lager/audio/mp3_320/008822_Kon_Allthatshew_FrancescoConteGiorgioConteDanc.WAV.mp3"
end tell

I need a script that starts all scripts as a batch one after another. The “batch” script should be located in the same folder as the single scripts.

It’s probably a studip newbie question but I’d be happy to get some help :slight_smile:

Browser: Firefox 2.0.0.4
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

Hi;

You don’t need the Finder to run a shell script. Assuming you’d like each of your scripts to finish before proceeding to the next, why not just make them handlers and call them right after the other?

I run scripts from scripts daily, the most efficient way of calling is:

tell (load script file ((((path to library folder) as string) & "Scripts:Internet Services:Location Manager.scpt") as string)) to set res to run

Your’re not getting every detail if errors occur, however.