Saving Safari downloads to specified folder

Hi I’m pretty new to scripting - have only made one script that worked before but I did get help from here with that too so now I’ve signed up.

Here’s my problem:
I want Safari to save all files that I download in a specific folder withing the download-folder. The specific folder should have the date of the day as title. I thought of it and come up with that I probably can’t make Safari do all the work so I have so far come up with a script (which is a work in progress) that should create a folder when I login and set todays date as the title of that folder. Next step is to “convince” Safari to save the files that I download one day in the folder whos title corresponds with the date of the download. Anyone get that…?

I’ve come this far:

For a start, there’s a much easier way of creating a folder without going through the pain of using UI scripting (selecting menus, typing, etc., etc., etc):

set downloadsFolder to ((path to shared documents) as text) & "Download:"
set newFolderName to date of today(yyyymmdd)
tell application "Finder"
    set newFolder to make new folder at folder downloadsFolder with properties {name:newFolderName}
end tell

(note, this presumes you already have a ‘today’ handler to handle the date conversion)

This script uses the ‘path to’ command to find the Shared folder (so the script is portable and will still work even if you change disk names, etc.) and it works silently, without having to open windows, etc.

As for the Safari part, I’m not entirely sure but it looks to me like Safari saves the downloads folder in it’s preference file as ‘NSNavLastCurrentDirectory’, so you can use the ‘defaults’ command to change this setting before launching Safari:

do shell script "defaults write com.apple.Safari NSNavLastCurrentDirectory " & quoted form of POSIX path of newFolder