"script" command followed by multiple commands not working

I am a bit of a noob on applescript and couldn’t find anything in my searches for what I am doing wrong. Hopefully it is an easy fix

I am trying to write an applescript that will start the "script"command so I can record all the results of the different commands I am running in a text file so I can review it later.

Below is an example of what I am trying to do. When I run the applescript, the script command executes but then nothing else runs. After the script command runs, the command prompt changes and reads “bash-2.3$” I am pretty sure this is what is stopping the rest of the command from running. Is there a way around this?

tell application "Terminal"
	do script "script /Volumes/Data_Disk/Command_Results.txt"
	do script "date" in window 1
	do script "history" in window 1
	do script "mount" in window 1
	do script "netstat" in window 1
	do script "exit" in window 1
end tell

Thanks for the help
Dave

Model: MacBook Pro 15
AppleScript: 2.2.3
Browser: Safari 537.22
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.8)

Hello and welcome to Macscripter! :slight_smile:

If I read you correctly, you are looking for some kind of a keylogger facility, that can track what you have done in the Terminal window. (Should get iterm2 really).

You have the history facility of bash, but if you want to track the output of the commands, then man script may be something for you.

I would not try to use this command from a do script command, since it works so closely to the tty. You can “emulate it” by setting the size of the terminal history, (roll back or whatever in the second tab of terminal preferences, down to the right), to unlimited.

Then you can grab the contents of the terminal window and save that to a file when you are done.
This one grabs whatever you have typed since you started the Terminal session, based on your history setting as I mentioned higher up, and sends the result to the clipboard.

tell front window